Airport-Data.com Forum Index  
  Airport-Data.com » Forums  Guest: Log in |  Register |  Search |  Memberlist |  Usergroups |  Profile |  Private messages |  FAQ 
WD932 English Electric Aircraft       

WD932 English Electric Aircraft 
actionbarbie

PostPosted: Mon Oct 27, 2014 1:44 pm    Post subject: WD932 English Electric Aircraft Reply with quote

I bought this photography recently and on researching the aircraft I learnt that this was the aircraft that flew from Ireland to America a record flight at the time? It also was the prototype for another plane. How long was production of this plane and when was the record flight to America? I am NO expert and my description and terms im using may be wrong, but I cant find any really good images of WD932. Would this black and white photo print be of interest to collectors? The print is around 9 x 7 inches. Any info gratefully recieved Smile Thanks, Linda Smile

IMG_20141027_181111.jpg
 Description:
WD932
 Filesize:  712.44 KB
 Viewed:  2978 Time(s)

IMG_20141027_181111.jpg

English Electric Canberra WD932 
Malcolm Clarke

PostPosted: Sat Nov 08, 2014 5:07 am    Post subject: English Electric Canberra WD932 Reply with quote

If you Google "WD932 Canberra", you will find quite a few sites providing data on this historic aircraft including many images, possibly including the one you have.

For example,
http://1951club.wordpress.com/2012/11/06/canberra-does-it-1951/
provides ........

The Canberra was also somewhat of a record breaker … In 1951 an RAF English Electric Canberra B Mk 2 (serial number WD932) flown by Squadron Leader A. Callard , flew from Aldergrove, Northern Ireland, to Gander, Newfoundland. The flight covered almost 1,800 nautical miles (3,300 km) in 4h 37 m. and was the first non-stop unrefuelled transatlantic-crossing by a jet.
The aircraft was being flown to the U.S. to act as a pattern aircraft for the Martin B-57 Canberra.Follow this link for a Pathe News recording of the record-breaking attempt.